Pomeranz Named 2019 Dan David Laureate

Kenneth Pomeranz, one of the world’s leading scholars of modern China, has been awarded the prestigious Dan David Prize for his studies of macro history, focusing on East Asia.

Each year, the Dan David Foundation awards three $1 million prizes for innovative achievements in interdisciplinary research exploring the past, present and future. Pomeranz shares one of this year’s prizes with Prof. Sanjay Subrahmanyam of UCLA, who specializes in the early-modern period in India and whose work Pomeranz has long admired.

Pippin Named 2019 Guggenheim Fellow

Working primarily on the modern German philosophical tradition, with a focus on the philosophers Kant and Hegel, Robert B. Pippin has analyzed issues ranging from modernity, political philosophy, self-consciousness and the problem of freedom. His interdisciplinary explorations have evaluated the relationship between philosophy and literature in Henry James and the Modern Moral Life (2000) and between philosophy and film in Hollywood Westerns and American Myth: The Importance of Howard Hawks and John Ford for Political Philosophy(2010) and The Philosophical Hitchcock: “Vertigo” and the Anxieties of Unknowingness (2017). The Evelyn Steffansson Nef Distinguished Service Professor in Philosophy and chair of the John U. Nef Committee on Social ThoughtPippin plans to use the Guggenheim Fellowship to support work on his next book, Idealism and Anti-Idealism in Modern European Thought, which discusses how idealism in Kant, Fichte and Hegel asserts that unaided human reason can completely determine all that is knowable, that it is knowable, and how it is knowable.

Spencer Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Margaret Beale Spencer is the Marshall Field IV Professor of Urban Education in the department of Comparative Human Development. Spencer, PhD’76, studied child and developmental psychology as a student at UChicago, and has spent her academic career trying to make room for the experiences of marginalized people within psychology’s view of human development. She was previously on faculty at the University of Pennsylvania, where she served as the director of the Center for Health Achievement Neighborhood Growth and Ethnic Studies, and inaugural director of the W. E. B. Du Bois Collective Research Institute.

Last year, the American Psychological Association awarded Spencer the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Urie Bronfenbrenner Award for Distinguished Contributions to Developmental Science. She was also one of the winners of UChicago’s 2017 Diversity Leadership Awards.

Lear and Myerson Elected to American Philosophical Society

Roger Myerson, Harris/Economics, and Jonathan Lear, Philosophy/Social Thought, were elected members of the American Philosophical Society at the Society’s annual meeting last weekend. Founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin, APS is the oldest learned society in the United States.


Greenstone and Lessing Named 2019 Carnegie Fellows

Prof. Michael Greenstone and Asst. Prof. Benjamin Lessing are among the 32 fellows in this year’s class, announced April 23 by the Carnegie Corporation of New York. They were chosen from nearly 300 nominations for the honor, one of the most prestigious fellowships of its type. Greenstone and Lessing are the first UChicago scholars to win the award, which was first established in 2015.


Goldin-Meadow Gave 2019 McGovern Lecture at AAAS Annual Meeting

Professor Susan Goldin-Meadow, the Beardsley Ruml Distinguished Service Professor at the University of Chicago, delivered the annual John McGovern Lecture at the Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.


Professor Mauricio Tenerio-Trillo (History) and Professor Jennifer Pitts (Political Science) receive UChicago teaching awards

The University annually recognizes faculty for exceptional teaching and mentoring with the Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Awards, believed to be the nation’s oldest prize for undergraduate teaching, and the Faculty Awards for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring, which honor faculty for their work with graduate students. 


New Chair and Four New Members announced for SSD Council 

The University of Chicago’s Board of Trustees has approved the appointment of Zachary Egan, AM’96, as chair of the Division of the Social Sciences Council. The Trustees have also approved four new members for the Council: Luann Jacobs, Matt Jacobs, Rohit Kumar, and Pamela Paresky. Their appointments are all effective July 1, for their first three-year term.

Staples AM’76 PhD’82 Awarded 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Writing

Brent Staples, AM’76, PhD’82, has won the 2019 Pulitzer Prize in Editorial Writing for his work on the editorial board of The New York Times. The prize was announced April 15.

Exploring the legacy of slavery and racism, Staples has written about everything from Sally Hemings’ place in the history of Monticello and Thomas Jefferson, to the meaning of Confederate monuments, to the Afrofuturism behind Black Panther. The Pulitzer committee praised the “extraordinary moral clarity” of his work, which “charted the racial fault lines in the United States at a polarizing moment in the nation’s history.” Staples arrived at the University of Chicago in 1973 to study psychology, eventually writing his doctoral dissertation about the mathematics of decision-making.

2019 Saller Disseration Prize awarded to Liam Mannix (History)

Liam Mannix, PhD’18 (History), has been selected as the 2019 Recipient of the Richard Saller Dissertation Prize. Mannix defended his dissertation—“The Catholic Agricultural Enlightenment in France”—in June 2018.

2019 Social Sciences Research Center Faculty Seed Grants and Graduate Student Fellowships Announced

Three faculty projects were selected for funding through the seed grant initiative, which is in its second year. Eight graduate students were selected to be inaugural fellows through our new Graduate Student Fellowships program. Fellows, who are in the final throes of dissertation write-up, receive a dedicated workspace in the Social Sciences Research Center and a small research stipend.