Recent Announcements and Headlines

New Committee on Quantitative Methods in Social, Behavioral, and Health Sciences established

Dean Amanda Woodward announced today the formal establishment of the Committee on Quantitative Methods in Social, Behavioral, and Health Sciences at the University of Chicago, and the appointment of Guanglei Hong as inaugural chair. This faculty-led initiative represents a University-wide interdisciplinary group of distinguished scholars committed to improving methodological research and education in the study of populations and societies. The Committee brings together scholars from across the Division of Social Sciences, Biological Sciences Division, and Harris School.

Four division faculty elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Congratulations to Fernando Alvarez (Economics), Cathy Cohen (Political Science), Susan Levine (Psychology), and Linda Waite (Sociology).

John Mark Hansen named Deputy Dean and Executive Director of Master’s Programs for the Division

John Mark Hansen, the Charles L. Hutchinson Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Political Science and the College, will lead a strategic review and renewal of the division’s MA programs, working closely with faculty and program directors to articulate each program’s pedagogical mission, to evaluate operations and strategy, and to consolidate their position within the division. He will also serve as faculty director of the MAPSS program.

2018 Alumni Award and Norman Maclean Faculty Award Recipients Announced

Congratulations to four social sciences alumni on their receipt of an award this year:

  • Early Career Achievement Award: Yuval Levin, AM’02, PhD’10
  • Professional Achievement Award: David R. Segal, AM’63, PhD’67, and Mady Wechsler Segal, AM’67, PhD’73 
  • Alumni Medal: William Douglass, AM’66, PhD’67

2018 Recipients of Quantrell and Teaching Awards announced

Congratulations to Kimberly Hoang (Sociology), Boaz Keysar (Psychology), and John Brehn (Political Science).

2018 Recipients of Wayne C. Booth Award announced

Congratulations to Kyle Gardner (History).

2018 Saller Dissertation Prize awarded

Congratulations to Emma Stone Mackinnon (Political Science).

SocTea Returning to the Division in 2018-2019

For many years, faculty and students in the Division of the Social Sciences gathered in the Tea Room on the second floor the Social Science Research Building for coffee, tea, and desserts. The then-daily “SocTea” was a beloved tradition and, through support from the Dean’s Office, will be returning once per month.

For the latest division news, visit the Announcements page on our website.