New Education Research Institute

In March the University’s Committee on Education and the family of Hymen Milgrom, AB’35, announced a new research initiative, Successful Pathways from School to Work. The initiative will provide doctoral students with up to $25,000 per year for one- or two-year projects that focus on urban education. Students were invited to submit letters of intent through April. Awards will be announced October 1, 2014.

Grant Preps History PhDs

UChicago will share a $1.6 million grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, awarded to broaden the career paths of history PhDs. In March, when the grant was announced, Kenneth Pomeranz, University Professor of Modern Chinese History and in the College, told the Chronicle of Higher Education that the grant will help the University provide more internship opportunities at nonprofits, hold more career-focused seminars for doctoral students, and hire a three-year “career fellow” to institutionalize some of these programs.

New Collegium Projects

In February the Neubauer Family Collegium for Culture and Society announced 15 new research projects, five of which feature principal investigators from the Social Sciences Division:

The State, Violence, and Social Control in the Contemporary World
Principal investigators: Benjamin Lessing (Political Science); Paul Staniland, AB’04 (Political Science); Forrest Stuart (Sociology)

Unpacking the Value of Health Insurance in India: Fostering Dialogue Amongst Methodologies
Principal investigators: Anup Malani, AM’96, JD’00, PhD’03 (Law); Alessandra Voena (Economics)

The Changing Social and Rhetorical Foundations of Florentine Republicanism
Principal investigators: John P. McCormick, PhD’95 (Political Science); John Padgett (Political Science)

People and Things on the Move: Migrations and Material Culture
Principal investigators: Leora Auslander (History); Tara Zahra (History)

Art Scenes: An International Perspective
Principal investigator: Terry Clark (Sociology)

Social Science Faculty Recieve Named Professorships

The faculty members have received named professorships in 2014:

Karin Knorr Cetina, Otto Borchert Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Sociology: Knorr Cetina’s interests include financial markets, knowledge, and information, as well as globalization, theory, and culture. She’s writing a book on global foreign exchange markets and studying post–social knowledge societies.

Elisabeth Clemens, William Rainey Harper Professor, Department of Sociology: Clemens, AM’85, PhD’90, is professor and chair of sociology and a former master of the Social Sciences Collegiate Division. Her research explores the role of social movements and organizational innovation in political change.

Susan C. Levine, Rebecca Anne Boylan Professor, Department of Psychology: Levine studies cognitive development, development and plasticity of spatial skills, early quantitative development, and language development and functional plasticity in children with early brain injury.

John Levi Martin, Florence Borchert Bartling Professor, Department of Sociology: Martin has published work on the formal properties of belief systems and social structures, the Constitutional Convention of 1787, the rationalization of infantry war, and the use of race as a conceptual category in American sociology.